Large Text | High Contrast | Standard | Site Map | Skip to content | Skip to main navigation

Armed Forces Covenant

Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service Celebrate Long Service And Good Conduct Of Employees


On Thursday 7 September 2017, Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service held its annual awards ceremony at the Proact Stadium Chesterfield, honouring 17 individuals who have completed 20, 30 and 40 years’ service.

The event, which was sponsored by Bowmer & Kirkland, Bristol Uniforms and FireAngel was hosted by Derbyshire’s Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive, Terry McDermott.  

This year eight operational employees were awarded the 20 Year Queen’s Fire Brigade Long Service and Good Conduct Medal, presented by her Majesty the Queen’s representative in Derbyshire, The Vice Lord-Lieutenant, Colonel John Wilson OBE DL.  This medal is presented to those who have provided long and meritorious service to the UK Fire & Rescue Service.

In addition, Councillor Kevin Buttery, Chair of the Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Authority, presented two support employees with engraved pens to mark 20 Years’ Long Service and Good Conduct, five operational employees with lead crystal vases to honour 30 Years’ Long Service and Good Conduct and two operational employees with lead crystal bowls to commemorate 40 Years’ Long Service and Good Conduct in the Fire and Rescue Service and Local Government.

Speaking at the end of the evening, Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott said: “It is an honour to be here this evening, celebrating and recognising the long service and good conduct of individuals from across the Service; individuals who have dedicated many years to making Derbyshire safer.

“In recognising the long service of our employees, it is equally an honour to welcome their families here this evening too.  Family and friends are the hidden support network for all of our employees, the ones who listen, the ones who are in the background quietly providing the support necessary to allow them to do the jobs they do – for this I am thankful.  

“This evening has been a proud occasion for all, and I hope everyone who has attended can reflect on the achievement of those receiving a medal, or an award, knowing that without such a dedicated workforce, the Service would simply be unable to achieve the successes it has had in reducing the number of emergency incidents across Derbyshire.”

20 Year Medal Recipients: 

DFRSAA17 20 Year Medal Recipients.jpg

Standing (L-R): CM Paul Willis, CM Mark Ratcliffe, CM Adrian Riley, FF Ian Hobson, CM Stuart Travis, FF Rodger Allen.

Seated: FF Andrew Markham, Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott, Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Derbyshire, Colonel John Wilson OBE DL, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Gavin Tomlinson, SM Simon Abbs.

20, 30, and 40 Year Long Service and Good Conduct Award Recipients:

DFRSAA17 Awards Photos.jpg

Seated: (L-R) Helen Crampton, Deputy Chief Fire Officer Gavin Tomlinson, Chair of the FRA Cllr. Kevin Buttery, Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott, Shareen Akhtar

Standing: (L-R), FF Michael Merrick, WM Steve Docherty, WM Paul Linacre, John Lavelle, Retired WM Philip Allsop, CM Paul White,  WM Timothy Hutton

Language Translation

You can use the translation service powered by Google to translate DFRS pages into a variety of other languages.

Please note:
Translations cannot be guaranteed as exact and may include incorrect or inappropriate language. We cannot control the quality or accuracy of the Google service.

Think Sprinkler Campaign

Click here

Smoke Alarms Save Lives

Click here


For documents provided in pdf format, you will require a pdf reader such as Adobe Reader to view the files

Adobe Reader can be downloaded by clicking on the link above.