Large Text | High Contrast | Standard | Site Map | Skip to content | Skip to main navigation

Armed Forces Covenantstonewall diversity champion logohighly commended emergency services sector awardelectrical safety councilDAA Dementia Action Allianceemployers network for equality and inclusion memberdisability confident leader

A Proud Day For Derbyshire As Twelve New Firefighters Pass Out Of Training


Twelve new wholetime firefighters have today marked the end of their initial training course and been honoured at a pass out ceremony attended by Derbyshire’s Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott, family, friends and dignitaries from across Derbyshire. 

The trainees, made up of seven men and five women, commenced a 16 week intensive training course in February 2019.

At today’s ceremony the trainees performed drills for the assembled guests before being presented with certificates to mark the completion of their training course.  Each trainee will now enter the development phase of their careers as firefighters on stations across the county.  

Speaking at today’s pass out ceremony. Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott said: “Pass out marks the end of a significant phase in a Firefighter’s career and is a proud day for the trainees, their families and the Service. It is the end of an intensive 16 week training course, during which the new trainees have developed from a position of knowing comparatively little about the Fire and Rescue Service, to a stage where they will now be posted to work on fire stations across the County.

“I’d like to congratulate each of the trainees on their achievement and wish them well as they start the next state of their career.”

Firefighters with Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry McDermott at today’s pass out ceremony. Firefighters listed below with the station that they will be based at.

L-R Back Row:  FF Jared Parkinson – Nottingham Road Station, FF Declan Conlon – Ilkeston Station, FF Paul Shelton – Kingsway Station, FF Thomas Goodwin – Staveley Station, FF Ben Cooper – Staveley Station, FF Alex Graham – Ilkeston Station.

L-R Front Row: FF Louise Needham – Long Eaton, FF Brittany Lally – Kingsway Station, FF Rebecca Hinchley – Ascot Drive, Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive Terry  McDermott, FF Suzanne Bennison – Buxton Station, FF Amy Walker – Swadlincote Station.

Language Translation

You can use the translation service powered by Google to translate DFRS pages into a variety of other languages.

Please note:
Translations cannot be guaranteed as exact and may include incorrect or inappropriate language. We cannot control the quality or accuracy of the Google service.

Think Sprinkler Campaign

Click here

Smoke Alarms Save Lives

Click here

Adobe Acrobat Reader logo

For documents provided in pdf format, you will require a pdf reader such as Adobe Reader to view the files

Adobe Reader can be downloaded by clicking on the link above.