Skip to main content
Link to Search

19 New On-Call Firefighters Pass-Out In Derbyshire

On Sunday 25 March 2018, Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service welcomed 19 new On-Call Firefighters at a Pass-Out Ceremony attended by over 100 of their closest family and friends.

Following several weeks of training, spread over many weekends, the newest additions to the Service were formally recognised and welcomed by Derbyshire’s Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Gavin Tomlinson, before they embark on careers as On-Call Firefighters in development at fire stations across Derbyshire.

Speaking at the ceremony, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Gavin Tomlinson said: “A Pass-Out Ceremony is a special occasion for everyone as we celebrate our newest On-Call Firefighters and mark the beginning of the next phase of their Fire Service career. 

“Becoming an On-Call Firefighter is a big commitment, being available to respond to a pager at a moment’s notice, ready to respond to all manner of emergency incidents.  This would not be possible without the support of family, therefore it’s an honour to welcome not only our newest Firefighters, but also their families here today.

“Each of our new Firefighters has received the highest possible level of training from a dedicated team of professionals, and I am confident that this will stand them in good stead as they join fire stations across the county. 

“I wish them every success as they enter what I know to be a challenging, yet rewarding career.”

As well as the 19 new recruits, DFRS awarded five On-Call Firefighters with The Silver Axe, which recognises the high standards they achieved during their previous courses.

The 19 new On-Call Firefighters will take up posts at the following fire stations:     

Daniel Allen – Bradwell Fire Station

Ryan Bond – Heanor Fire Station

Mark Debbage – Long Eaton Fire Station

Joseph Edge – Hathersage Fire Station

Joshua Hallam – Alfreton Fire Station

Martin Houghton – Wirksworth Fire Station

James Massey – Long Fire Station

Mark Sierotko – Glossop Fire Station

Thomas Thompson – Alfreton Fire Station

Codie Waterall – Heanor Fire Station

Steven Ayres – Ashbourne Fire Station

Andrew Beniston – Alfreton Fire Station

Jacob Elliott – Ripley Fire Station

Matthew Keeley – Hathersage Fire Station

Nicholas Palmer – Ashbourne Fire Station

Laura Robinson – New Mills Fire Station

James Slack – Matlock Fire Station

Jojo Thomas – Ashbourne Fire Station

Simon Wood – Swadlincote Fire Station


On-Call Firefighter Trainee Course 4-17 ​

on-call firefighters 1

L-R: Back Row – FF Mark Sierotko, FF Ryan Bond, FF Joshua Hallam, FF Daniel Allen.

Middle Row – FF Mark Debbage, DCFO Gavin Tomlinson, FF Joseph Edge.

Front Row – FF Codie Waterall, FF Martin Houghton.


On-Call Firefighter Trainee Course 1-18 ​​​

on-call firefighters 2

L-R: Back Row – FF Jacob Elliott, FF James Slack, FF Steven Ayres, FF Simon Wood, FF Matthew Keeley.

Middle Row – FF Andrew Beniston, FF Nicholas Palmer, DCFO Gavin Tomlinson, FF Jojo Thomas.

Front Row – FF Laura Robinson.



Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service is actively recruiting On-Call Firefighters for stations across the county.  On-Call Firefighters, are sometimes referred to as Retained Duty System (RDS) Firefighters.  On-Call Firefighters respond to emergency incidents via a pager.