Skip to main content
Link to Search

19 New Firefighters Pass-Out In Derbyshire

On Friday 21 September 2018, Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service welcomed 19 new Wholetime Firefighters at a Pass-Out Ceremony attended by over 100 of their closest family and friends.

Following several weeks of intense training, the newest additions to the Service were formally recognised and welcomed by Derbyshire’s Chief Fire Officer, Terry McDermott, before they embark on careers as Firefighters in development at fire stations across Derbyshire.

Speaking at the ceremony, Chief Fire Officer, Terry McDermott said: “A Pass-Out Ceremony is a special occasion for everyone as we celebrate our newest Firefighters and mark the beginning of the next phase of their Fire Service career. 

“Becoming a Firefighter means responding to all manner of emergency incidents.  To undertake such a role would not be possible without the support of family, therefore it’s an honour to welcome not only our newest Firefighters, but also their families here today.

“Each of our new Firefighters have received the highest possible level of training from a dedicated team of professionals, and I am confident that this will stand them in good stead as they join fire stations across the county. 

“I wish them every success as they enter what I know to be a challenging, yet rewarding career.”

As well as the 19 new recruits, DFRS awarded three Firefighters with additional awards, which recognises the high standards they achieved during their course.

The 19 new Firefighters will take up posts at the following fire stations:     

Matthew Adams – Swadlincote Fire Station

Hattie Archer – Kingsway Fire Station

Jake Bradbury – Glossop Fire Station

Chris Broomhead – Alfreton Fire Station

Karl Coppack – Buxton Fire Station

Ben Curry – Nottingham Road Fire Station

Joshua Hardy – Long Eaton Fire Station

Ryan Herbert – Ascot Drive Fire Station

Chloe Hutsby – Ilkeston Fire Station

Tom Longdon – Staveley Fire Station

Bradley Looke – Alfreton Fire Station

Jack Malone – Swadlincote Fire Station

James Mantell – Alfreton Fire Station

Charlotte Maxted – Nottingham Road Fire Station

Joel Maxted – Ilkeston Fire Station

Daniel Price – Nottingham Road Fire Station

Joe Shaw – Long Eaton Fire Station

Michael Shipley – Ascot Drive Fire Station

Robert Stevenson – Long Eaton Fire Station