Skip to main content
Link to Search

10 New On-Call Firefighters Pass-Out In Derbyshire

On Sunday 31 March 2019, Derbyshire Fire & Rescue Service welcomed 10 new On-Call Firefighters at a Pass-Out Ceremony attended by their closest family and friends.

Following several weeks of training, spread over many weekends, the newest additions to the Service were formally recognised and welcomed by Derbyshire’s Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Gavin Tomlinson, before they embark on careers as On-Call Firefighters in development at fire stations across Derbyshire.

Speaking at the ceremony, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Gavin Tomlinson said: “A Pass-Out Ceremony is a special occasion for everyone as we celebrate our newest On-Call Firefighters and mark the beginning of the next phase of their Fire Service career. 

“Becoming an On-Call Firefighter is a big commitment, being available to respond to a pager at a moment’s notice, ready to respond to all manner of emergency incidents.  This would not be possible without the support of family, therefore it’s an honour to welcome not only our newest Firefighters, but also their families here today.

“Each of our new Firefighters has received the highest possible level of training from a dedicated team of professionals, and I am confident that this will stand them in good stead as they join fire stations across the county. 

“I wish them every success as they enter what I know to be a challenging, yet rewarding career.”

As well as the 10 new recruits, DFRS awarded three separate awards, (Teamwork, Technical and the Silver Axe), which recognised the high standards they achieved during their course.

The 10 new On-Call Firefighters will take up posts at the following fire stations:     

Nathan Beresford-Towle – Matlock Fire Station

Martin Burgess – Duffield Fire Station

Adrian Colley – Long Eaton Fire Station

Daniel Fareham – Bolsover Fire Station

Jack Hewitt – Clay Cross Fire Station

Paul Holland – Ripley Fire Station

Jack Maney – Whaley Bridge Fire Station

Grant Ormrod – Glossop Fire Station

Leo Randall – Hathersage Fire Station

Luke Timons – Shirebrook Fire Station

10 new recruits